First gift, first Christmas

Offerings
by Mary Harwell Sayler

Listen, Lord,
I trusted them not to trouble
the animals in the barn.

They needed shelter,
but so did everyone.

Such a crowd I’ve never seen!

It will take weeks to repair
the damages to my inn,
and weeks to forget
that poor Baby on the hay –
maybe longer.

And maybe it wasn’t much,
but, listen, Lord!
I turned no one away.

I gave the best
I had to offer.

© 2012, Mary Harwell Sayler. First published in the Vol. XII, No.1, 1985 issue of Time of Singing, the poem also appears in Mary’s book of Bible-based poems, Outside Eden, published in 2014 by Kelsay Books.

~~

Leave a Reply

