Small moments toward belief in God

Suspended Belief
by Mary Harwell Sayler

I thought I had upgiven childhood fan-
tasies: toys from San-
ta Claus, bunny baskets, and monstrous mounds of can-
dy on All Saints Hallowed Eve.

But sipping my morning cup of Columbian
coffee with Christmas-like pleasure, I saw a man
named Juan
and his nameless donkey, bean-laden, on TV,
and I believed.

I believed in the goodness of coffee
for those who grow and pick and drink.

I believed in the kind-eyed man
and his mule – actors both,
bean-dropping on my reality.

And God?
Such belief comes so much harder than
the coffee man’s assuring nod.

The One I cannot seem to see
is not so easy to believe,
and, therefore, as I live and deeply breathe,

I believe.

© 2012, Mary Harwell Sayler, poem previously published in the Vol. IV, #1, Spring Issue of Writer to Writer magazine and in © 1998 chapbook Speaking Peach.

~~

Leave a Reply

