Revisiting the Love Chapter

Taking A Bible Stanza
(from I Corinthians 13)

Though I speak with the most angelic voice
heard in the human heart….

Though I resound as a clear bell calling
all readers to ring with praise….

Though I prophesy with power,
decipher mysteries, acquire
insight, and utter wisdom well….

Though I have faith to move
mountains of people with perceptive words
and cast rejection into deep depths of the sea….

Though I write all I have been given
and hand over my body of work without
reimbursement or acknowledgment….

Though I may boast of publication and best-sells….

Without love for God and readers, my work is nothing.

The loving writer-poet must be patient,
kind – not proud.

The loving writer-poet must not insist
“My work, my way!” nor be
manuscripted with resentment,
but rejoice, rejoice in giving voice to truth.

The loving writer-poet bears all
disappointments, believes all
timing comes from God, and has all
hope to end: endure.

The loving writer-poet knows
we know in part, but every part
of every reader needs
The Loving Word of God.

This love story, theme, or purpose
never ends.


by Mary Harwell Sayler, © 2000, all rights reserved, please do not use without the poet’s permission. Poem originally published 2000 in Cross & Quill.

One thought on “Revisiting the Love Chapter

Leave a Reply

