Going Fishing with Jesus

The Catch
from Luke 5

What a wasted trip! All night without a fish….
Exhausted now I clean the dripping nets and
wish I’d stayed home and slept. But Jesus climbs
into my boat and asks to pull away from shore
beyond the people’s reach so He can teach them
what they most need to hear.

When He’s done He says, “Let down your net
in deeper water,” and, mildly, I protest the un-
blessed night. I have no right to believe this
time won’t be the same, but I receive His word
as truth: Let Jesus name the time to fish.

Putting my will beyond other people’s reach or
mine, I release my time, my tiredness, my life,
and livelihood. In the presence of my Lord I let
down my nets – finally catching what is good.

by Mary Harwell Sayler, © 2012

All rights reserved. Please do not use without the poet’s permission. “The Catch” was also included in the now out-of-print chapbook Saints Alive, Now & Then, © 1998, Mary Harwell Sayler

2 thoughts on “Going Fishing with Jesus

Leave a Reply

